Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Mullet Rock '06

A friend and I are planning on attending the event of the year! Ok, so it's just one concert but it's a mullet rockin' concert. Ok, so as I was saying, a friend and I are headed to none other than a "Mullet Rock '06 aka Def Leppard and Journey concert!! {:-p

Yes, there's no better way to celebrate summer than by sitting in a pavilion or a stadium(I never seem to remember the actual concert location where I will be rockin' although I've been told several times), drinking beer and listening to some cheesy 80s rock. I can't wait till they play Love Bites. *Note to self: I have to get a lighter. Do they hold up lighters still? I seem to recall someone saying that holding up a lighter was a thing of the past. Clearly, I missed the concert etiquette update*

Anyway, the last time I was at a concert, it was a Prince concert. If you listen to Prince, you'll know right away that while he can still kick ass with his music, he's not a swaying with the crowd, power ballad blaster, guitar screeching in the background kinda guy. Ok, well his guitars do screech but in a cool, R&B sorta way vs. a power ballad rockin' way.

So, we're counting down to Mullet Rock and...in case I am getting senile and haven't explained the Mullet Rock title, it's because you know we're sure to see a few 80s Rock mullets! Therefore, in honor of the esteemed event, I think I'll list some 80s tunes that I currently have on my 80s iPod playlist. I guess now that I'm preparing for Mullet Rock I'll have to stop listening to Damian Marley and Janet Jackson over and over again.

I know, I know, I listen to almost anything. Can you tell? :-)

So, in keeping with the 80s theme, as cheesy as it may be at times, and although I don’t officially do Thursday Thirteens, what better time to tie the two together?! Here are thirteen cool 80s songs on my iPod right now.
  1. Your Love - The Outfield
  2. Heaven is a Place on Earth - Belinda Carlisle
  3. Faith - George Michael
  4. Candy (7" version) - Cameo
  5. White Lines - Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five
  6. Pour Some Sugar on me - Def Leppard
  7. I Need Love - LL Cool J
  8. Livin' on a Prayer - Bon Jovi
  9. There's the Girl - Heart
  10. Need You Tonight - INXS
  11. Take On Me - a ha
  12. St. Elmo's Fire (Man in Motion) - John Parr
  13. Rebel Yell - Billy Idol

What's on your music player or 80s playlist that bring back memories of leggings, big (possibly flammable hair with all that hairspray) and cool tunes?

Monday, June 26, 2006

Say it ain't so!

Many people document wise sayings and tidbits of inspirational information. However, I prefer to document some of the truly assinine sayings that I've had the misfortune of hearing as well as pieces of conversations from my various workplaces.

I'm sure many people have sayings that are just as stupid - feel free to send some to me!


6/13/06
"I believe in humility – since I have such an extensive, structured and enviable background in sociology and human behavior."

Same person: "I’m a natural born mover and shaker when it comes to jobs and promotions. However, people ignore that quality in me since I’ve been doing the exact same job for over 12 years now."

6/26/06
"Irregardless of the fact that this [initiative] is not going to be implemented because the system logic is flawed, I think you should research it thoroughly. This will be a valuable endeavor that will help you learn the ropes."

6/26/06
Well, people are only human you know. (Wow, really?! This comment was made during a meeting in which someone asked why a group of developers could not perform a certain set of tasks in a week.)

2005

Manager: “I’m restructuring the department since I can’t handle all of the work anymore. There will be three directors who will each be over two people.”

Employee: So, what will you be doing now?”


Manager: “I will be delegating” (apparently, there is a whole job out there that only requires a VP to delegate).

1/4/2006
Manager to Analyst: “Do you think that the items on this priority list is really a priority?”


Analyst: “No, why don’t you call the document owner and find out.”

1/5/2006
I’m not that difficult to get along with if you agree with me. “Do you think?”
[Clearly I do think but that is not the question, is it? Then again, I must agree if we are to get along.]

9/13/2006
Project Manager: This process flow doesn’t make sense. Should we just reverse it?

Analyst: I’m sorry, I don’t follow.”

Project Manager: Well, for example, shouldn’t the “end process” (and yes, he used finger quotes) be at the bottom of the page?

Analyst: But there are only two swim lanes. It’s on the far right side of the page. It clearly indicates the end of the process.

Project Manager: Yeah, I know, but shouldn’t it be at the end of the page?”

Analyst: It's a process flow. It’s at the end of the process.

Project Manager: I like things to be evenly lined up. I like it better at the end of the page. Why don’t you just go ahead and move it?
Clearly, I was not going to win that argument using any form of logic...

Wednesday, June 21, 2006

Socks in Summertime

So if you've glanced at my profile you'll see that my occupation is the Ride Operator at one of the largest Clown Factories. My ride operator department follows the policies of the Clown Factory to the letter according to the Ring Master and as such, I am now subjected to the dress code that was designed in 1960 but has been oh so graciously updated for circa 1980.

A Clown's dress code consists of important details and facts like, and I kid you not, how many inches of bare shoulder and arm can be revealed! It also provides helpful guidelines like where a man's moustache should end (which by the way should be trimmed right above where the corners of his lips are) and for women, no bare feet or open shoes. However, Michael Jackson-esque loafers and clogs are apparently acceptable. Ok, I might not mind this if it were winter or if I lived in say, Fargo in 1960 but seriously, in 90-degree weather, I should be wearing socks and closed shoes?? And I get such lovely pedicures too :-)

But on the bright side, I can wear a shirt that allows me to show off my lovely arms right below the shoulder. Aren't I lucky?
Ok, I have to do this post only because this is truly heartbreaking, yet encouraging.

Trinidad & Tobago's (T&T) Soca Warriors are going home. They did not win any matches nor did they score any goals in the 2006 World Cup. So, what's the big deal? Well, the big deal (in the heart of a true Trini, anyway) is that aside from being the smallest country to qualify for the World Cup, this is the first time T&T has qualified for the grand games. The first time is always special, you know?

So, it is with a heavy heart that I bid farewell to the Soca Warriors. You played with heart and enthusiasm. You held off Sweden and annoyed the bloody hell out of the English. Job well done!

At least now the World Cup world knows about the little island that proved it could make it to the show and hold its own. Looking forward to seeing you here again in 4 years!

Tuesday, June 20, 2006

World Cup Links

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/photos/tri.html

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/pgStory?contentId=5676192&pageNumber=1

Saturday, June 03, 2006

As promised...

I've been called on my slackness in writing about my trini rants and for that, I thank you, Trini gyal. As promised, I will continue the trini rants here.

Ok, so why is it that when someone sees a person who visually does not fit the black or white mold, they have to ask, "where are you from"? I was asked this question no less than six times this week at work. I stopped counting after the sixth instance.

"Trinidad" was my response to the first person who asked. The look of surprise on her face was unmistakable. "Trinidad? You can't possibly be from Trinidad." I didn't have the energy to argue with her, nor was I in the mood to engage her in a conversation about my heritage. She followed me to the elevator and said, "you can't really be from that place. People from Trinidad are black and african looking, aren't they?" Well, she must have figured me out. Here I was, neither black, nor african looking (based on her assessment anyway).

"Ok, where do you think I'm from?" I asked her. "You must be Spanish or latin or something, so I'm guessing Brazil, Venezuela or Spain. Or, maybe you're Arabic?" "Sure" I responded. Did I mention we have the slowest elevators ever built? I had to stand there and listen to this moron.

"No, you're kidding, right?" Unfortunately, she continued talking as I stood there. "So, where are you from, really?" She asked again. I decided that if I had to stand there and listen to this ignorant weirdo, I'd have some fun. "I'm african." I responded. "I'm really from Morocco." She just stared at me. "What?" I asked her. "Well, it's just that I didn't think somebody like you would be from, you know." "No, I don't know" was my response. "Well" she said, "I believe you, I just knew you couldn't possibly be from Trinidad." She started looking a little uncomfortable. However, even as I stared straight ahead at the non-emerging elevator's location. I noticed that she kept staring at me. I just let her stare. I wasn't in the mood to educate her on race, culture or heritage. Finally, as we got off the quiet elevator ride, she asked, "so do you call yourself, African or Moroccan?" My response was, "Neither. I prefer human." She didn't seem to find the humor in my response. I don't understand why...

As she said ciao and threatened to talk with me later, she said that she was looking forward to it. Great. I'm a smartass and I still can't get rid of her. I'll have to be sure to be ruder if possible next time. I'm sure I'll have the oppprtunity again. She's already stopped by to tell me two things she found online pertaining to Morocco and the Spaniards - you know, my people. What a pity she didn't have the common sense to look up Trinidad before making assumptions about the beautiful people with the mixed up heritages of which they are proud!

Peace.